Pink Sheep

20131021-210807.jpg

In New Zealand they painted the sheep pink for breast cancer awareness week and because they were so popular they have decided to keep them this way as a permanent feature.

A part of me feels unsure about this. Obviously the dye they have used must be safe or else the RSPCA would have been all over this. But is it right? Is it fair to the sheep?

Would I dye my pets fur? No I wouldn’t.

Have I dressed up my pets in cute dress ups? Yes I have.

In fact my toy poodle Dolly was always wearing cute doggie jumpers and had ribbons in her hair and sparkley dog collars. Was that fair to her? In hindsight I guess probably not. She wasn’t fussed by it though and neither do the sheep in New Zealand appear to be.

I was a lot younger when I had Dolly, I guess the older I get the less I worry about vanity and the more important comfort becomes. I suppose I’d rather feel good now than look good. Does that sound bad?

Leave a Reply

