Feeling content

20140309-203552.jpg

My baby is back from a 7 day survival camp and surprisingly enough he has returned in good spirits. Feedback from all the boys was that the experience was not as bad as they were expecting it to be. After last years 3 day survival camp which was a total nightmare, I think the boys were all bracing themselves for the worst, I know my son was.

We have heard many stories about the Year 9 survival camp. Many boys we were told do not make it through the seven days, but all of our boys did, and for that they should be proud. The thought process behind these survival camps is that they are meant to instil resilience in boys, and girls, I guess, so that later on in life if they are faced with a challenge they will be able to draw back on the challenges faced on the camp and trust that they are strong enough to overcome whatever hurdles may come their way.

I’m still not sure how I feel about these camps. But I am happy that it is now behind us, and I am thankful that my son didn’t get injured. I know that some boys were hurt, one had to be airlifted to hospital.

To celebrate my sons return home and also his birthday which was on Thursday when he was still at camp, the family went out to a lovely Italian restaurant where we enjoyed great food, nice wine and family bonding time.

Tonight I am a very happy mother, all my chicks are home safe and sound, and I got to spend the day with my family that I love more than anything else in the world.

20140309-203535.jpg

9 thoughts on “Feeling content

  1. It’s always nice to have your family close and enjoy spending time together. Glad he came back in one piece – survival camp *shudder* there’s that word again.

Leave a Reply

