A change is as good as a holiday

A change is as good as a holiday, or so they say. Today I waltzed into the hairdresser and had my long unruly hair cut short again. It has been 4 years since I last had short hair so I was a bit apprehensive.

Last time I had my hair cut really short and bleached blonde it was for my fortieth birthday, my mid life crisis as I like to joke. Today was just because well this is the year of breaking out of my comfort zone so time to step up to the challenge.

New short hair cut looks and feels great!! I couldn’t be happier. Despite that fact that my son and nephew don’t really like it. Oh well you can’t please everyone. The hairdresser remarked that I looked surprisingly calm for someone who was making such a radical change. As I said to him, it’s only hair right?

I am really embracing this living out of my comfort zone thing, it is the most liberating thing I have undertaken for some time now.

24 thoughts on “A change is as good as a holiday

  1. Short hair is great. I remember when I chopped mine off – it seemed all the guys in my life were disappointed. My response was – it’s my head to do with what I wish! Now you can wear all sorts of cool hats;)

  2. Good for you – I’m in the middle of growing mine again and since I made it through the Australian summer without taking the shears to it I think I’ll keep going. It is true that playing with different hair styles is a little like a holiday. When you can’t afford to travel or do too much it is a nice way to make a change without disrupting your whole life.

    1. I wanted it long for the summer too, strange I know but then you can just put it up with minimum fuss especially after swimming. The new hair cut has inspired some new outfits, I guess they go hand in hand, at least that’s my excuse lol.

  3. I went to chop mine off a few years ago and the hairdresser wouldn’t – she told me it would be too traumatic for me. She was probably right. But, she did take several inches off my naturally curly hair, cut some really long layers in to my one layer hair do, and then straightened it all!
    It was so totally different than anything I’d every done, and I loved it so much that I’ve kept it up for a couple of years now.
    Seriously considering going back to curly – or cutting it all off – or doing something, as my 40th is around the corner! πŸ™‚

    1. I remember the first time I had my hair straightened Kate like you I just loved it, haven’t gone back to curly since (although must say my curls are not the lovely thick ones they are fine and frizzy ).

  4. I’ve found short hair is so liberating. Mine has grown out so much (I need an inch cut off) that it feels heavy, and takes longer to dry. Good luck with yours.

Leave a Reply

