What to make for dinner?????

20140327-200458.jpg

I’m so over the constant challenge of coming up with ideas to cook for dinner.

I just wish that I could blink sometimes and magically produce a gourmet meal that the whole family would be happy with.

The fact that my twins are so fussy just adds to the challenge, and I find myself making the same meals over and over just because I’m guaranteed that they will eat them.

I follow many cooking / food blogs that I just love, because they always have such amazing recipes and ideas, but again I feel limited by my twins resistance to try new things.

Most nights of the week we have something on, either basketball training, or soccer training, or Zumba or clarinet, which means I am forever racing against the clock to cook something that is quick, healthy and delicious.

My absolute favourite is when I succeed in making a meal that everyone loves . Even better still is when there is enough of this successful meal leftover for the next day too.

Tonight dinner was more miss than hit. Luckily it’s Friday tomorrow, Friday night is pizza night in our household which is just as well I think.

32 thoughts on “What to make for dinner?????

  1. I find I make the same things for the most part… my husband doesn’t like trying new things either.. πŸ™‚ A little monotonous, but makes it easy. I just swirtch out the vegetables for variety!

  2. I know what you mean, between my husband and my sons sports and training commitments during the week, it doesn’t lend itself to being too adventurous with the meals I make and I do tend to fall back on the favourites to ensure that they both eat properly and enough. I use weekends for my experimenting and encouraging them to try new things, but I do still tailor my choices to their tastes to a certain extent. There’s nothing worse than putting your heart into making a meal and then people not liking it is there??

    1. But your dishes look so amazing Elaine and so appetising. Still even with my simple foods it is very disheartening when the meal is a bit of a flop. I liked the suggestion of getting them to cook with me I’ll give that a go I think, hopefully that will get them more interested. Xxx

      1. Hopefully πŸ™‚ Ben always gets excited at the thought of getting involved with cooking but he’s watched so many cooking programmes, that he thinks it only takes 3 minutes to make a fabulous meal!! I keep having to explain about editing! And full pantries!! He loses interest very quickly…:(
        Luckily he does like lots of spices and flavours, he just likes them all on chicken and nothing else!! XX

  3. I think I follow you. You get tired of the same ol’ same ol’. So much so, that in my kitchen food prep is no longer a creative event. I’ve lost interest. But hey, at the risk of throwing out another clichΓ© , if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

  4. I had a picky kid and he still is to some extent. I learned a few things – give him the opportunity to cook for himself (supervise of course). There is much bargaining power here – you can deal in a you pick one thing healthy and I pick one thing healthy. It can be things during one meal or picky gets to plan one dinner a week and then you get the rest – but picky must own up to their end of the bargain. For Peyton, it was the act cooking of cooking and watching the Food Network on Sunday mornings with me. He is now 16 and one of the things we do and love to do together is cook. Plus – now I really do not need to supervise and he can cook the whole meal. πŸ˜‰

    1. What a great idea. My eldest likes to cook, he is actually considering perusing cooking as a cAreer path. I guess because the twins are my babies I haven’t really given them the opportunity to cook for themselves (with supervision ofcourse) I must try this. Good idea thank you.

  5. Do you ever sneak a peek into other people’s grocery carts, while at the store, to see what they’re making? I do that all of the time!
    My problem was never picky eaters, it was just being tired of making what seems like the same old things.

  6. I am fortunate the Mr. T has learned to eat whatever I fix, and he nicely lets me know if it was a hit or a miss. Last night I made spaghetti alfredo (cause I didn’t have fettuccine noodles like I thought I did) but the alfredo sauce was made from cauliflower. Oh my goodness – it was so very good!! Mr. T wanted it to have more spice. I told him to add red pepper flakes! LOL.

    I have just as many hits as I do misses, and several meals that are in a very regular rotation!

      1. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve made tater tot casserole! The only redeeming fact is that I use ground turkey,not beef and homemade cream of and not the canned. It makes it, while not healthy, better. LOL

  7. I hear you on this. To be frank, swiss german cuisine is BORING. My husband and I are running out of ideas, however, have found something to help spice up our culinary life. There is a local service that delivers food and recipes to our home. I am giving it a try next week while he is aways on a trip. I’ll try to post my cooking adventures on my blog. I’m not exactly great at it, so it will be an adventure!

  8. I live alone now and still don’t know what I want half the time. I could starve to death just standing in front of the open fridge trying to figure out what I’m in the mood for, then end up with a bowl of cereal because none of it looks all that good.

Leave a Reply

