Pet shop puppies

20140530-203044.jpg

The pet shop at our local shopping centre has bought in the most adorable chubby chocolate coloured Sharpei puppies. These cute roly poly bundles of joy drew in the crowds today, and of course my twins wanted a closer look.

There is no denying that these pups were adorable, the problem is that they are without a doubt puppy farm dogs, which means that by gathering around and cooing over them we are effectively encouraging puppy farming, something that my twins are not able to comprehend just yet.

Last year this very same pet shop decided to do the right thing and have shelter dogs on offer instead of designer puppies, however the demand for these dogs was not great, and come Christmas time the cute puppies were back.

I do hope these beautiful Sharpei puppies find loving forever homes, every animal deserves that, but I also wish that people would do the right thing and send a clear message to pet shop owners everywhere. It is time to end the shameful and cruel treatment of companion animals that are suffering in puppy farms. It’s time to break the puppy trade, and the only way to do that is to stop buying puppies from Pet shops.

20140530-203101.jpg

7 thoughts on “Pet shop puppies

  1. To see pet shop puppies (or any pets in stores) makes me sad. I cross my paws for the puppies, but I wish they would stop to sell pets in stores, they are living things, no goods.

  2. I get mixed feelings too when I walk into a pet shop full of the cuties, so sad if i don’t free them yet at the same time I’m in agreement with you about the mills. 😦

Leave a Reply

