Friday the 13th and Death

Today is a sad day indeed, my friends husband was buried today. His funeral was a traditional Greek Orthodox one, with the service at church and the burial at the crematorium followed by light refreshments in the crematorium hall.

I don’t think there was a dry eye in the church as his son, his father and his two brother in laws carried his coffin up to the alter.

To see my beautiful strong friend so distraught was very hard today. Her children were a mess. I wished there was something I could have done, something I could have said to take their pain away, but there are no words that could do this I know.

After the church service a parade of cars followed the hearse with lights on to the crematorium.

Somehow I ended up in the wrong lane, before I knew what was happening I was side to side with the hearse I tried to let up on the gas but ended up blocking the traffic coming behind, in the end I had no choice but to overtake the hearse (this is not something one should do). The nightmare of today did not end there I entered through the wrong entry point of the cemetery and ended up driving around in circles throughout the cemetery looking for the burial site without any luck.

I ended up running out of time, as I had to pick up my kids from school, and believe it or not I ended up getting lost again and had to call mum to help navigate me back.

I don’t know that being Friday the 13th has anything to do with today’s disaster but I can’t wait for today to be over. I think I’ll pour myself a big glass of wine and just go to bed.

16 thoughts on “Friday the 13th and Death

  1. You were obviously distraught…. This too will pass as does everything… I always ask those who have lost someone, “tell me whAt was the funniest thing they ever did?” They tell me and then I say, ” remember just that moment”

  2. I used the word “paraskevidekatriaphobia” in my blog today. It means fear of Friday the 13th. I’m more scared of any word with that many letters but based on your experiences maybe we should all be extra careful.

  3. I’m sorry for your loss, Diana. I’m reading this on June 15, so I can only hope your day (Friday, June 13) somehow got better.

Leave a Reply

