Worth fighting for

I know how lucky I am, and how lucky my children are (even if they don’t always see this). We have been blessed with a loving family that support and love us unconditionally.

Unfortunately not everyone is as lucky though. I was reminded of this yet again today as I tended to a little 9 year old girl who was feeling a little overwhelmed and scared as she waited in the waiting room of our health centre for her mother who was meeting with her drug and alcohol counsellor and a representative from Child Protection Services.

Her fear manifested itself in the form of an upset stomach, and she came over asking if I could call her mum because she was not feeling well. It was clear that she was stressing.

Mum came out of the meeting and reassured her that everything was ok, but the little girl was not convinced. As I walked mum back to the counseling room she explained to me that her daughter was worried that child protection would take her away again.

I was heartbroken for this beautiful innocent little girl who had obviously had to deal with more than anyone her age should ever have to deal with.

I hope that mum finds the courage to embark on her journey of recovery for her child’s sake. Fighting addiction is hard but if ever there was something worth fighting for then this is it.

14 thoughts on “Worth fighting for

  1. I truly hope everything works out for this little girl and her mom.This is the unfortunate reality we must all realize. Not all children are lucky to have a supportive and loving family. I wish them the best. Thank you for sharing this post with all of us.

  2. I lost the love of my life to a life of drugs and booze.. She’s not dead but she might as well be…

  3. I hate that that lovely child has already gone through so much; however, it also can’t be easy on your having to witness and carry it with you! I would imagine a heavy heart is well, heavy after a bit – so I’m sending you some good energy to help you!

  4. Oh my goodness, we lift prayers for that little angel…so much worry on those tiny shoulders…It’s heartbreaking just to read, but you were a witness, may peace fill your heart…praying…

Leave a Reply

