16 years and counting..

IMG_2583.JPG

So today is my wedding anniversary 16 years of marital bliss! We have had many highs and a few lows in that time. I don’t think I am the same person who made those vows 16 years ago. I think Stephen is though, he hasn’t changed at all, but I know I have. Earlier this year I walked through the city, down past all the old haunts where we use to frequent, including the Rialto Towers where we spent our wedding night, and I couldn’t help feeling a little nostalgic. I found myself wondering what had happened to that girl? How much life had changed her, matured her, she was a mother now, older, with responsibilities, wrinkles and a few more kilos. I think if I am to be honest with myself I would have to say that I am happier with in myself now, happier with myself also. I don’t miss that girl, she was just the template for the woman I have now become. I no longer feel I need to be perfect. In fact I realised a long time ago that no matter how much you strive for it perfection is unattainable. I think I am just happy being me. Tonight we are celebrating with a simple dinner at one our favourite restaurants, my sister is looking after the kids so we have the house to ourselves. So here’s to 16 happy years, may we have many many more.

30 thoughts on “16 years and counting..

  1. What a lovely post!

    It seems anymore we read of unhappy marriages not lasting even a year. 😦
    Maybe I just read that on the magazine covers as I am standing in the grocery line. lol
    Wishing you many more. 🙂

  2. Happy Anniversary! I’m so very happy for you guys – and I love the retrospective! I go through life and think that all is the same, and then something hits me and I realize how far I’ve actually come and how much I’ve changed! I love that you had that moment too, and here’s to many more years of growth and changes! 🙂

    1. Wow 34 years is a great milestone!! I thought my husband was fast proposing 6 weeks after we met, but I think you and your husband by far surpass that, meeting and getting married in 5 weeks. Sometimes you just know I guess. Thank you for the lovely wishes, I hope you and your husband have a lovely anniversary too and many many more happy years to come.

Leave a Reply

