Losing faith in love

I would have to be the most hopeless romantic ever. I am in love with love. That helpless, complete, utter love that knows no boundaries type of love. The Romeo and Juliet, Edward and Bella kind. The kind you read about in novels or see in films. That is why my preferred genre for both reading and writing is romance.

The past few days though I have been losing my faith a little in love. All around me people are splitting up, fighting, what was once something so beautiful and wholesome has now become soiled and nasty.

It’s hard to remain optimistic when there is so much negative energy around. Why do people put each other through such misery? Is it really worth it in the end? If you asked me last week I would have said yes of course it’s worth it!! There is no obstacle that love can’t conquer!! But ask me this week and I’m not so sure.

28 thoughts on “Losing faith in love

  1. It is worth it! If we stopped having faith every time we saw someone fail, then we would accomplish nothing. Love, when it’s right and with the right person, is a beautiful thing.

  2. I’ve lost faith in love in the past, until I met my husband. He’s a hopeless romantic and treats me like a princess. We’ve been together for 15 years and through some very difficult situations, but our love never falters. Don’t give up faith in love–there are real, solid relationships that are forever. I promise! 🙂

  3. Don’t let others peoples stories change love for you, thats their story, not yours 😘 it is sad to see how things change for some people but for some of us, that’s how we then find the love of ours lives xx

    1. I’m so sorry to hear that. 😦 it is hard when you do put yourself out there despite your reservations and then you get shot down. I hope everything works out for you, as hard as it is I still would like to believe that love will prevail in the end.

  4. I’ll be sending out good energy and prayers for those in your life that are struggling, it can be hard to watch them go through it, but know that it’s their path and you don’t have to take on their energy, you just get to be there when they need a friend.

  5. I saw an article about how on facebook everything is so super rosy. Perhaps if people didn’t gauge their experience against those of love portrayed there (and publicaly by friends) they may still be in love. Gauge against your own reality 🙂

    1. Good advice! Have to say I have found this to be true, so many people comparing themselves and their lives to others, instead of being happy with what they have. Ill see if I can find that article, it would be an interesting read.

Leave a Reply

